First Samples of Wire Art

Colonel Wire2

Wire Ole Miss

The top one is Colonel Rebel (former Ole Miss Mascot but still a favorite of most fans).  It is approx. 81/2 by 11 inches.  The second one is just OLE MISS spelled out in wire for the local fans. Now as bad as I hate too I am going to have to do some Bulldogs and Mississippi State.  Hopefully I will improve some but I was fairly pleased with my first efforts.  The pictures are not the best in the world to show off the detail.

Wire Cross

This is a Cross done approx. 5×8 inches.  Later I plan to put some beads and maybe other decorations on some of them and maybe a little more intricate wire work.

The picture below is a cross made from copper tubing hammered flat.  I stamped the words , Faith, Hope and Love with metal stamps.  I hope to do more hammered and stamped items later.  I just thought I would share some of what I have been doing with you.

Copper Crosss

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to First Samples of Wire Art

  1. Red says:

    Even without the pix for the details, you are doing a great job, Bo. I hope you are finding it relaxing. And do not stress too much about the Bulldogs 😉

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      Bulldogs are not near as stressful as their fans. It is relaxing. I hope to get better at it and I hope to create some really nice stuff. I learn as I go.

  2. Binky says:

    I’ve never seen art done like that out of copper wire. Quite neat!

  3. mskatykins says:

    Hey these are really cool and they’re probably fiddly work, so extra well done to you! 🙂

  4. These look fun Bo and i really liked all of them..its not easy i know ..we had a class on pottery and wire mesh art..well i somehow passed it…
    i find these activities calming…Hope you are enjoying making them 🙂

  5. ltpen315,barb says:

    I like these alot. I knew it was the Colonel before I read it, so that’s good!! Nice work.

  6. You did a great job with all of these, but I love that Colonel Rebel. What made you think of doing something completely different?

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      Thanks. I saw some wire art on the internet and thought, “I would like to try that, and I did.” I have a long way to go but I am working at it.

      ________________________________

  7. These are really, really cool, Bo! I think I might have told you this before, but I have no idea how you do such a good job of working wire… I have a fit just trying to loop a piece behind a painting or a picture frame! It’s finicky stuff, but you make it look easy!
    🙂

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      I just pick it up and start twisting. 🙂 It’s kinda like you real artist painting and drawing…you just do it and it and hope it comes out right.

      ________________________________

  8. jbstoons says:

    I see Bo there is no end to your talents. Really beautiful work. Even if it is Old Miss.

  9. NO WIRE HANGERS!!!! Mommy Dearest reference. Look great Bo

Leave a Reply

