And That’s The Way I Feel

More Like I Do Now

This is a the answer I give to a lot of people who ask me how I’m doing.  I found out a long time ago that people really don’t want to hear someone complain all the time.  I also understand that there are some people who genuinely care about how you are doing and if they really want to know I will tell them.  Okay, so most of you really do want to know how my health is, right?

I am going for my first check up since my heart attack in November.  I kind of got lost in the system I guess and just out of nowhere I get a call that I have an appointment with my cardiologist.   I have been a little disappointed this time with my progress.  With all my previous heart attacks I seemed to snap back and could do most of the things that I was doing before the attacks.  This time it has been different.  My energy level is a lot lower and I seem to hit that energy wall a lot sooner.  Thankfully I am still functional and I am able to still do a lot of the things I enjoy.

I guess the biggest problem is getting it in my mind that there are some things I just can’t do anymore.  Life is good though.  I made jewelry this weekend and I started working on some artwork with copper wire.  I will be sharing some of that later.

I got a great surprise in the mail.  Michael Phelps, creator of Life on 66 comics sent me a copy of his new book containing all the comics through 2012.  It was autographed with a hand drawn picture of yours truly.  He has used me as a character in several strips and he even put a link to my comic site in his book.  That is one of the most  awesome things that has happened to me in my short webcomic career.  I hope to blog more about this later this week after I check out some things with Michael.  If you haven’t checked out his strip you can go to http://www.lifeon66.com/ and give it a go.  It would also be nice if you would buy a book.

New comic tomorrow at http://gatorhead.wordpress.com

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to And That’s The Way I Feel

  1. Red says:

    My answer is normally, “Fair to partly cloudy.” The sheer number of ppl who still say, “Haha! Like the weather,” never cease to amaze me… considering they miss the connection entirely…

  2. Wish you health and happiness BO
    You are a fighter..my husband suffered three in 2006 ..we are fortunate we got good cardiologists…he leads a fit life now thanks to good guidance and stress releasing programmes…

    Sending you love n hugs 🙂

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      Tell him to keep a close eye on his condition. I was doing okay after my first one and then became complacent and had one that did some terrible damage that I haven’t been able to overcome. I am down to one open artery and my heart works at 20% of capacity. I’m gonna keep on pluggin’ until it stops though.

  3. Binky says:

    I’m sorry to hear your recovery hasn’t been as good this time. Hopefully your cardiologist can offer some solutions, maybe better meds or something to help you. As we all get older we do tend to lose our ability to do things, though generally it’s slow and mostly goes unnoticed. Until you try to keep up with a young whippersnapper!

  4. Oh see NOW I know what book it is. That serves me right for reading out of order.

  5. mskatykins says:

    You know, sometimes I wonder why people just say they feel fine when they feel lousy. I think too often people pretend they’re okay… but I can understand what you’re saying. I hope you get over your energy low soon and that you start to feel more chipper.

    Congrats on this book! How cool, now the previous (later!) post I read makes more sense. Very cool – enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

