Bein’ Entertained

Cant Afford It

Recently I found out that any kind of entertainment outside the home is expensive. Movie tickets are about $7.50 each, popcorn and a coke for my wife and I was $17.  That meant that I spent more for our lunch, a movie, cokes, and popcorn than I spent for my first car.

Actually I only gave $50 for my first car, which I only kept for a week because it used 4 quarts of oil with a tank of gas.  I sold it the next week for $60 with full disclosure about the oil usage but the guy was going to rebuild the engine.  He wound up with a pretty nice automobile.  Now I can’t fill up my SUV for $50 and it takes over $40 to fill up my Honda Civic.

Gloria and I are not hard to entertain.  We enjoy going to Flea Markets, Craft Shows, and Rummage sales.  If we want a movie we buy one from the $5 bin at Wal-Mart because odds are we haven’t seen it. (We go about once every three or four years.)  Sporting events have become outrageous.  We have almost given up sports because we don’t have cable and it seems like they want to put all the good stuff on cable channels.

The point is, we entertain ourselves or each other.  We are seldom bored.  If we want to get away we take day trips or just get us an inexpensive Motel room (not too far away) and chill out for a couple of days.

I didn’t spend a couple of thousand dollars for a Super Bowl ticket because I got to watch it on television…and I had a good seat.

I’m not really tryin’ to make a point.  I’m just makin’ observations.  I admit that when I’m standin’ in line behind a person with $300 in junk food while their teenage kids are talkin’ on an I-phone that it bothers me a little when they pay for it with food stamps.

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bein’ Entertained

  1. Red says:

    I agree with you. That is all.

  2. Best times are the ones that cost little.

  3. Bo Lumpkin says:

    That is for sure Bearman.

  4. mskatykins says:

    Here’s something that might amaze you: what you pay in dollars for the cinema is what we pay in pounds in the UK. Seriously, it’s almost double the dollars. It’s scandalous!

    Nothing wrong with being easily pleased! 🙂

  5. Binky says:

    Everything is expensive these days. Especially for us poor, under-appreciated starving artists. At least I have some Wombies to entertain me.

  6. Bo Lumpkin says:

    But you have to feed them too and the price of chocolate is outrageous.

  7. ltpen315,barb says:

    You are so right, Bo. I’ve been to the movies once in the 7 years since I came back home! Prices are ridiculous!!

Leave a Reply

