What…Me Worry?

Future Worries

I have been setting short term goals lately and I have actually been reaching most of them  I was workin’ on my bucket list but after crossin’ off all the things that I am no longer physically able to do it is more like a tin cup list.  I have to be honest, sometimes my health condition bothers me a little…okay a lot but then I turn on the news and realize that I might just last as long as this world does.  No I’m not going to grow a beard and stand on the street with a sign saying, “The End Is Near”.  (Gloria won’t let me grow a beard.  I had hoped that all the charm from the “Duck Dynasty” show would change her mind.)

North Korea just threatened to nuke the US.  Even though they would hit the West Coast that would be awful. (George Ford lives there and we would miss “Addanic City”…and George.)  Global warming almost froze the people living up north this year.  The government actually let the Sequester happen.  (So far I haven’t felt it and obviously all those people in line in front of me in Wal-Mart yesterday haven’t felt it either.)

I bought my wife a can of  Campbells soup yesterday (one of the little cans).  It cost $1.50 a can.  It costs more to fill up my SUV than I paid for my first car.  I keep hearing about people I know who are dropping dead of heart attacks and they are younger than me and have never had heart trouble.  I get lost in the system and my doctors forget who I am until it is time for them to send me a bill.   When I see them they tell me that there is nothing they can do for me but be sure and come in if I have any problems.

I said all that to say this.  The sun is shining (I’m writing this on Saturday), it will be in the 70’s today and I am going to work and make jewelry until I get tired and need  a nap or Ole Miss plays basketball on TV today.  I have the best wife in the world, great kids and grandkids who think I’m awesome (Please don’t tell them different), and the wildest, cutest, sweetest, (and sometimes meanest) weeny dog in the world. (Molly).  Future?  I really don’t know that there is gonna be much of one but I do know that Right Now I almost feel sorry for anyone who ain’t me.

Don’t miss my comics on the other site

http://gatorhead.wordpress.com

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What…Me Worry?

  1. Red says:

    I have to wonder why the prohibition to a beard. Hmm. I am with you in I would completely miss Addanac City and George, too.

  2. The world seems like a pretty scary place these days, doesn’t it, Bo?! At least it reminds us of what’s really important though, I guess.
    🙂

  3. Susan Hanks says:

    good one

    ________________________________

  4. mskatykins says:

    I say we’ve all got to enjoy life as best we can. Worrying is really damaging. I know that because I’ve also been doing it a lot recently!

    Hope the sun is still shining where you are. There is wet snow/sleat here. Grim.

  5. Binky says:

    We can all only live life one day at a time, and none of us have any guarantees. You can’t do any more than to try to make the most of every day you have.

  6. helenhanson says:

    Sounds like wisdom to me . . . lovely jewelry 🙂

  7. Bearman says:

    Always inspirational. I feel like a slug after reading all you are doing.

  8. Short-term goals are good, Bo. Heck, with as much bacon as runs through my family, you will probably outlast us all.

  9. jbstoons says:

    When you stop and think about it the future is the next 1.5 second. Great post. Good to see shirly.

Leave a Reply

