Can You Be Serious?

Bo Lumpkin

If I had a dollar for every time someone asked me that question I would be writin’ this from my condo on the Gulf Coast.

Even before I started school I used to have my most fun when family was gathered around and they would ask me to repeat some funny story that I had heard on the radio.

You might have guessed that in school I was the guy in back of the class crackin’ all the wise cracks and askin’ stupid questions.  Someone asked me if I was the class clown and I always tell them no because we couldn’t afford those big shoes.

One of the best times I ever had was in the eigth grade because the history teacher thought I was funny.  Once she asked “Does anyone know what a navigator is?”

I shocked her by raisin’ my hand.  She shocked me back by callin’ on me.  “A navigator is one of those things that lives in the swamp and grows up to be a suitcase.”

She was takin’ a drink of water at the time and she sprayed it all over her desk.  Thankfully I was a pretty good student in her class because I liked her and enjoyed the class.  I can even remember why she asked the question.  We were studying about Prince Henry the Navigator.  The best I can remember he was a prince who liked to sail.

In answer to the question the title of this article asked, Yes.  I can be serious, I just try not too.  I have laughed my way through tragedy, loss, and health problems.  If there is humor in something I am going to find it or rather it will usually find me.

I reckon in my 60+ years I have never heard anybody say, “I really like him or her because he is so serious”, or, “I enjoy bein’ around them because they are so solemn.”

Yep, I can be serious but most of the time I just choose not too.  It has worked real well for me so far.

Sometimes I do write some things that are more serious than my normal blogs.  I plan on postin’ some of them on this site in the future.  I hope none of them are so serious as to put a damper on your day and I hope you enjoy

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Can You Be Serious?

  1. People always say I should be a stand up comedian. I am smart enough to know and respond, nope…I’m only situationally funny. Can’t tell a joke.

  2. ltpen315,barb says:

    I can be funny, but I can’t tell a joke, either.

  3. Binky says:

    I’m funny looking. Does that count?

  4. I like your humor, Bo. It was a good day when Katykins put me on to your blog. 🙂
    I grew up with three brothers who all thought they were comedians. We were all trying to outdo each other. Laughter has served me well over the years.

Leave a Reply

