Can You Hear Me Now?

By Bo Lumpkin

I was sittin’ in a restaurant recently when I noticed a family that I guessed to be older than me.  They were all either texting or talkin’ on their cell phones.

These were not teens.  They were probably in their seventies.  Someone said that they might even be octogenarians but I couldn’t tell by lookin’ at them what their religion was. The only think I could tell for sure was that they were all digitally connected.

As is my habit sometimes I started thinkin’.  I was thinkin’ about how much things had changed since I was young.  In the sixties cell phones would have been the stuff of science fiction.  The closest we came to anything like that was the used walkie-talkies that someone gave to my older brother.  He could sit in his wheel chair on the front porch and talk to me all the way in the back yard.

The Verizon guy was not the one to originate the phrase “Can you hear me now?”  We used it a lot back in those days.

My brother eventually got a CB radio and we could talk all over the county with other CB’ers.  When the weather or atmospheric conditions or whatever were right we could talk for hundreds of miles. It was called “talkin’ skip’ which was against FCC regulations but hopefully the statute of limitations has run out on that.  We loved to “talk skip”.  It was one of our favorite activities.

Due to the stiff fines and penalties we did not use our call letters but used what was then known as a “skip name”, later to be called a “handle”. My brother’s “handle” was “Ironsides” because of the wheelchair and the popular TV series by the same name. One night when someone asked him what he was doin’ he answered, “Just sittin’ here talkin’ to my knot headed brother.”  From that time on my “handle” was Knothead.

Several times in any week I will have real-time communication with people all over the world. It might be Tony from Tasmania, George from California, Jerry from Florida, or Bearman (he still has a “handle”) in Ohio.  My brother would have loved it.

I’m Bo Lumpkin and I’ve been thinkin’.  “Breaker, Breaker, Ironsides, this is Knothead. Can you hear me now?  Tell mother not to worry, I’ll probably be home before long.”

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Can You Hear Me Now?

  1. Red says:

    When Daddy had his CB my handle was my hair color, not unlike now. When I had one, I was Lady Justice. Always have been. And you still have a few skips left, Knothead.

  2. When I was a kid two tin cans and a piece of string was considered high-tech!
    🙂

  3. Nice to know all these years you are still a Knothead.

  4. Binky says:

    It’s great how we can now communicate with people from all over the world with no long distance charges or anything.

  5. I love the handle Knothead. It’s kind of cute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

