Little Sisters Grow Up

Me and Sisters 2013

Hi, I’m Bo Lumpkin and I’ve been thinkin’.

Even little sisters grow up some day. All four of my sisters loaded up together and came and spent the day with me.  It was a fantastic way to spend the last day of the year. When you get my wife, four sisters, two brothers in law, a nephew and myself all together it is bound to be a fun day.

I couldn’t always say that.  It was pre-wife, pre-brothers in law and definitely pre-nephews that I didn’t think it was all that fun.  We lived in the country and at times my mother and step-dad would  leave my older brother and me to take care of our sisters.

It amazes me  how close they are now.  I can remember the fighting “She’s touching me.”  “That’s mine”. “Stop looking at me.”  “She hit me back.” If my brother hadn’t had muscular distrophy I think we might have run away from home.  Now they are jovial, loving, caring, and all grown up.

At least that is what I thought until I asked them if they wanted some of the Copperhead Jewelry I make.  It was a wonderful setting, all of them around my stash of home made jewelry scratching and digging and going through the goodies.  I sat back and smiled because I was thrilled that they like what I make.

It was almost like watching them when they were little girls and I think I might have heard “That’s mine”, “No I want that.” “I saw that one first.”

Thankfully they all left together, laiden down with home made jewelry and all were still on laughing and speaking terms.  I like to think that my brother who has been gone for over 40 years was watching with a big smile on his face and thinkin’ we all turned out alright.

I’ve been thinkin’, they grow up, but they are still my little sisters.

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Little Sisters Grow Up

  1. Binky says:

    That’s really nice, Bo. I’m glad you had a family reunion over the holidays.

  2. Wonderful story. Their delight over your jewelry was really great. So glad you all had a nice visit.

  3. Joy says:

    Awesome day!

  4. Jill says:

    It was a fun time!

  5. Tabetha says:

    That is awesome! I love it!

  6. Red says:

    I have four little sisters as well…they do grow up, but will always be li’l sisses. 😉

Leave a Reply

