A 2012 HAPPY PLATE

I’ve been thinkin’ about how I don’t like to waste anything.

When I drink a soft drink I turn it up and drain the last drop out of the bottle or can.  If I don’t drink it all I will either put it in the refrigerator or sit and sip on it hot all day.  It really bothers me after my kids have been to visit to find nearly full bottles or cans sitting around….wasted.

When I eat a bowl of ice cream, pudding, soup, etc., my wife gets mad because I scrape the last drop out of the bowl.  She tells me…you can get more if you want it.  It is not that I want more…it is that I don’t want to waste anything.  We try to teach our children to eat everything on their plates.  We tell them to make a happy plate.  I can tell you, when I finish eating if  being empty makes a happy plate, mine are downright delerioius.

I guess I am about the same way about my time.  I don’t like to sit and do nothing. Sometimes the things I am doing might not mean much to anyone else but I consider it scraping all the ice cream out of my time.  This last few days I haven’t produced much in the way of writing or drawing but I have spent a lot of time reading blogs and checking out other sites on the internet.

I have some projects I want to complete this weekend.  If I finish them that will be great,  If I don’t that will be okay too.  I just want to get all I can out of the next few days and not waste them.  When I look back over the year I want to be able to say “I sure made a happy plate out of 2012.

I know…there is a whole brand new year right around the corner just waiting to be opened and I do plan to open it up and get all the good I can out of it too.  Right now though I think there is a little bit stuck to the sides of this one and I’m not gonna waste it.

Bo.

 

 

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A 2012 HAPPY PLATE

  1. stbeals says:

    I loved this. I’m going to start using that expression. I want a happy plate. I don’t think I’ve ever seen my wife finish a can of Coke. She needs a Happy Can.

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      When we eat I think my wife makes sure that she at least takes out two or three bites more than she will eat of something. Sometimes my plate is so happy it is almost delerious.

  2. ron scarbro says:

    Amen Brother Lumpkin. The older I get, the more frugal I become. I cannot believe how wasteful I was a youngster. I plan to use whatever is left on my plate to be as productive as I can be and I hope the same for you.

    Ron

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      You are doin’ a good job of it Ron. I like your style too. It is kind of like cookin’ a stew. You keep stirrin’ the pot so none of it sticks to the bottom as things heat up. 🙂

  3. I remember my grandfather used to get on me to clean my plate at restaurants. I remember eating spaghetti. Once I finished. I told my grandpa to look and I licked the plate clean.

  4. ltpen315,barb says:

    That’s a great philosophy, Bo! We’d all be better off if we followed your example!

  5. Binky says:

    I feel the same way. I hate waste, but it’s often a product of wealth. When you’re poor, you can’t afford to waste anything. And if we didn’t waste things, we could save a lot of time, money, energy, and pollution.

  6. Tony McGurk says:

    I am a severe bowl scraper too Bo. Especially ice cream. I’ve done it as long as I can remember. When I was a kid Mum would always say “Leave the pattern on the bowl!!!”

  7. I try not to waste, but I will admit here in front of your blog that I do let the dog do the last bit of lickin’ on the plate. He likes a little something extra other than his dry food. Yes, we have a fat beagle.

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      I used to feed the dog I had before Rocky from my plate but we didn’t let Rocky have table scraps. I kind of regret that now but we thought it was for his own good. I was very liberal with the bacon flavored doggy treats though. The vet said we should not let him get too fat because he was so long it would be bad for his back.

Leave a Reply

