Rest In Peace Rocky

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last night as I was unloading the groceries from our vehicle I left the garage door open a little.  While we were putting the groceries away Rocky slipped out and was hit by a car and killed.  It wasn’t more than 10 minutes from when we last saw him that I found him lying on the side of the road.  I believe he died instantly and didn’t suffer.  We have only had Rocky for about 3 months but he brought us a lot of joy.  Even though he could be a little aggravating he made us laugh and smile.  We both loved him and we know that he loved us.  We are thankful for the time we had him but our hearts are breaking now and we miss him more than anyone could know.  My family all gathered at Gatorhead today and buried him beside our last dog Sesay (also a weiner dog) and did our best to comfort one another.  I guess I am an old softie but even as I write this I can’t keep the tears from my eyes.  Some people might say “he was just a dog”.  He might have been a dog but he wasn’t just a dog…he was family.

Rest in peace Rocky, and know that you brought us much happiness.

Bo

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Rest In Peace Rocky

  1. I’m VERY sorry for your loss….:(
    xx
    Sooz

  2. Red says:

    It does not matter if it is 3 hours or three decades. Pets are important. Condolences, Bo.

  3. ltpen315,barb says:

    I am so sorry , Bo. May he rest in peace.

  4. My deepest sympathy in the loss of your furry family member. I know what you mean about family.

  5. Binky says:

    I am so sorry to hear this, Bo. I never met Rocky personally of course, but I did feel as if I knew him thorough your posts. He seemed like a great little fellow. Dogs are such incredible animals, and it is so hard when we lose them. He will be sorely missed.

  6. Oh no. That is so sad Bo. I know how much you loved him and how much he came to be a part of the family so close. My best to the entire family.

  7. jdotson says:

    I am so sorry for you and your family’s loss Bo…

  8. mskatykins says:

    Oh Bo, I am so sorry to read this. This is such a tragic story. The only upside is that he didn’t suffer, but it’s terribly sad. I hope you are all doing alright. Big hugs.

  9. Tony McGurk says:

    Oh no!!! That’s such sad news about Rocky Bo. I’m so sorry to hear that. Please accept my condolences on your loss. I agree that there’s no such thing as “Just a dog” they become such good friends & part of the family that it’s so difficult when we lose them. Glad it was quick though & he didn’t suffer. I’m sure he loved the great life you & your wife gave him for the few months he was with you. I’m sure all your blogging firends will miss his posts as I know I will.

  10. Androgoth says:

    I am very sorry about Rocky Bo, it is very sad news indeed…

    Androgoth

  11. I’m so terribly sorry to hear about Rocky, Bo…
    very, very sad news…

  12. Bo, I can’t tell you how sorry I am that I missed this post. I hope you don’t mind my bringing it up now. I am deeply sorry that this happened to you and your family. I’m glad to hear Rocky didn’t suffer. We lost two dogs within three weeks of each other, and it was absolutely brutal. Our dogs were family members, too, and I still cry I miss them so much. My husband and I tell ourselves that we’ll never have another dog after our current beagle, but I know we will. There are so many dogs who need good homes. Rocky was surely happy for his time with you.

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      Thanks Maddie. I’m still in mourning but it gets better. We saw a local ad on the internet (with pictures) of some Dachshund puppies and Gloria has mentioned them several times. Right now I am resisting but some times I feel like giving in.
      Thanks for commenting. It actually helps that others know what you are going through.

Leave a Reply

