ATITTUDE ADJUSTMENT

While adjustin’ to my new lifestyle I have decided that there is still one thing that doesn’t require a lot of effort.  I feel like I have always been more of a writer than an artist and my dream has always been to write.  I have decided that since I am not disciplined enough to tackle large projects like novels that I plan to write a few short-shorts and post them on this site (Rocky Might Move).  Here is my first offering. Comments appreciated.

By Bo Lumpkin

I looked up from the gas hose I had been staring at as I pumped gas.  The sound of the blaring car horn had attracted my attention from the mundane job of filling my tank.  There at the stop light was an older vehicle that seemed to be  stalled and the driver was trying his best to get it started. I stood up and let the pump fill the gas tank on it’s own while I watched.

The idiot in the car behind continued to blow his horn and I desperately wanted to shout out to him that he was an imbecile and the guy in front of him was doing all he could to start his car.  Before I finally came unglued and started shouting I heard a pop and a saw a puff of smoke and the stalled car roared to life.  I was a little surprised that the car didn’t pull away because the light had just turned green.  Instead the driver put it in park, let it idle and got out of the car with a grin on his face.

There was something about the look on his face that drew me in.  I waved and he nodded in my direction.  With the big smile on his face he walked up to the window of the horn blower and I couldn’t help but wonder if he was going to try to explain his situation.  Still smiling he motioned for the man to roll down his window, and he immediately complied and I could hear the curses coming all the way across the street.

The smiling man didn’t say word.  He just kept smiling, drew back his fist and threw a punch that almost sent me reeling.  He then turned, waved at me and walked back and got in his car and drove off with the next green light.

The pump had already kicked off because my tank was full and I hung up the nozzle on the pump and screwed on the gas cap.  I found myself humming as I went inside to pay.  There are some things in life you are glad you didn’t miss because you can look back on them and smile for years to come.

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to ATITTUDE ADJUSTMENT

  1. Bo, when I was here earlier, I looked around your site a bit to see what all was here. I was going to ask you if you had any stories. I thought since you might be blogging more now, you might add some stories to the mix. I figured you would have some really good ones to tell from all of your life experiences. And here you are telling a good story! 🙂 Is it based on a real event? It gave me a good chuckle. I like the guy in the older vehicle.

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      Thanks Maddie. It is actually based on a true experience. I didn’t witness this myself but the driver of the older vehicle was my step-dad. He knew how to get a point across. 🙂 I really loved him and I miss him a lot.
      I have a short e-book of some of my earlier stories in pdf format. If you will email me at bolumpkin@gmail.com I will send you a copy.

  2. Deb says:

    I didn’t know you could write stories out like this, Bo…great job! I’m also glad you are doing something you always wanted to do…good for the heart. 🙂
    xxx

  3. mskatykins says:

    Hee hee, this is great Bo and really lovely to read some of your writing. Multi-talented guy! 🙂 I saw the punch coming but I still really enjoyed it. I reckon I would rather have enjoyed watching this occur! Wow! Nice work. 🙂

  4. There are some folks who just need a bit of assistance when it comes to focusing their attention. Keep the wit and wisdom flowing my friend.

  5. This is a great story. I love the way the guy smiles the whole time and is super friendly even as he launches his fist into the other car 🙂

  6. Binky says:

    That’s pretty good, Bo! I have learned not to honk.
    I see you like Patrick McManus, too. I think he’s a great writer and storyteller and I have almost all his books.

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      I love Pat McManus. BTW He is still writing and has a website. He, Walt Kelly of Pogo fame, and Mark Twain greatly influenced my way of looking at life over the years.

      ________________________________

      • Binky says:

        Although I wasn’t aware of Walt Kelly when his strip was first run, I have a few Pogo books, too. Another great that too few know about.

Leave a Reply

