Rollin’ Along

I really didn’t realize that I hadn’t posted anything here at all last week.  It was my hope to post at least twice a week here but actually a few healthcare problems have kind of slowed me down (I have been busy tryin’ to make money to pay my hospital bills 🙂 ).

I have been enjoying working with Geezerhood.  I like drawin’ the Geezers and it isn’t hard for me to know what they are thinkin’ since I am one.  I hope you have been enjoying them.  I haven’t completely abandoned my other work such as Creatures of Habit, Kurt and Burt, and Edna and Mildred but it has been kind of on hold for awhile.

I spent the weekend without being creative at all.  I started cleaning and re-arranging my workspace in Kosciusko, MS where I usually spend my weekends and I didn’t have a buldozer and dump truck so I got about half-way through.  Hopefully the creativity will be better in an organized workspace.

When cooler weather prevails I intend to start back to work on my Man Cave, “The Rooster Roost” and my studio there.  I just can’t afford to air condition it enough to do physical work in there during the hot Southern summer.

I have been posting on the internet for about 4 or 5 years now and I have gone through different phases.  I was once posting about 10 times a week (not counting the 5 devotionals I write each week for my Church) and I kind of burnt out.  I took a short break and came back at a much slower pace and it seems to be workin’ for me.

The real truth is that I know that I will never be a professional cartoonist or artist and that is okay with me.  With my heart problems and the regular diagnosis “Your heart is very weak and there is really nothing we can do about that other than medication,” I don’t make  a lot of plans for the future.  I dumped my bucket list and decided that each day that I wake up I am going to do the things I have to do as quickly as possible and then I am going to spend my time doing the things I love to do.
This weekend tha included the cleaning of the office (have to or need to do) and a lot of napping and watching TV.

I am doing a lot of rambling now as us Geezers do so I will close and hopefully post again Friday.

I’m Bo Lumpkin, and I’ve been thinkin’, and ramblin’ on.  Don’t forget to check out the Geezerhood comic at www.gatorhead.wordpress.com

 

 

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rollin’ Along

  1. I think making a plan every day is a great thing. I know too I will never be a professional cartoonists but when someone “likes” something I draw, there is power in it.

  2. Bo Lumpkin says:

    That is what I tell people about makin’ my jewelry. It ain’t about makin’ money. It’s about people likin’ it. 🙂

  3. ltpen315 says:

    I understand about one day at a time. Every morning when I awake and know that I have a 10 hour day staring me in the face, I pray to God that he will help me make it through. I work with alot of pain and my new manager of 3 weeks is not very understanding. He expects us to do 3 days work in 1. It is really hard. I have arhritis and chronic sciatica in my back; really bad arthritis in my knees. I am seeing an orthopedic surgeon next month. You know what that means. God bless you, Bo! (And, I do miss Edna and Mildred!)

  4. Binky says:

    A bulldozer and a dump truck? That must be some serious cleaning you’re planning!

Leave a Reply

