You can’t keep a good man down…or me either.

Sunday at lunch I started havin’ some pains in my left arm.  They got worse as I was changing out of my church clothes after lunch and it I got out of breath just gettin’ dressed.

Just for the record I’ve been gettin’ out of breath for awhile this summer but I have congested heart failure and I just figured that the heat and humidity were gettin’ too me.

My wife insisted that I go to the emergancy room but I told her that I would be okay so she called both my son and my daughter who took her side and I was fightin’ a losin’ battle so I went.  I agreed to go but I told her if I started feelin’ better on the way we would turn around and go home.  The trip was about one and a half hours from where we were and I figured I would be better before we got there.  I was wrong…I actually felt worse and the pain had gone up into my neck and my face and head were feelin’ numb.  Okay…even I had to admit that maybe the emergency room was a pretty good place to be.

They admited me, did EKG and took blood…and said I was not havin’ a heart attack but they were going to do some more test.  They gave me 3 aspirin and a shot of blood thinner (I hate them.  They are the kind that they stick in your belly.)  I began to feel better immediately after the shot and aspirin.

My triglycerides were up to 1105 but I had just had lunch and I knew that could not be right. (They are supposed to be below 150).  I didn’t eat anything after midnight and they checked my blood again.  My triglycerides had gone up to 1159 and they were astonished.  They said they had never seen anyone who’s blood got worse after fasting. They called me an anomoly which I thought was kind of uncalled for since I hadn’t called them any names.

They finally discovered that I had fluid around my heart and doubled up on my fluid tablets.  That should help because it certainly is causing me to exercise more.  I was going to write more but the fluid tablets are working and I have to go NOW!

About Bo Lumpkin

I like to write, draw, and read and do funny stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to You can’t keep a good man down…or me either.

  1. Maybe you need to move your work bench into the bathroom. Glad you are on the mend. 1 1/2 hours to the hospital? Good thing it wasn’t a heart attack.

  2. r says:

    We, of course, are thinking of you. Take care of yourself. You have work yet to do.

    Ron & Linda

  3. Bo Lumpkin says:

    Thanks. I’ve really been enjoyin your recent blogs. I can’t always comment because my phone won’t let me.

  4. ltpen315 says:

    Glad wiser heads prevailed and you got the help you needed!! I would definitely miss you and your sense of humor!!!

  5. Binky says:

    Well I’m glad your family convinced you to go to the hospital!
    Good that it wasn’t a heart attack. I hope the new pills work and you start feeling better.

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      The commercials all tell you the symptoms of heart attack and stroke and tell you to call 911 at once. If I did that every time I have those symptoms I would have to put them on speed dial…or maybe buy an ambulance service.
      I have been havin’ heart attacks since I was 36 years old. I’ve used most of it up. I am now on my 3rd internal defibrilator. Other than a heart attack every once in a while I am in perfect health though. 🙂

  6. marvaseaton says:

    Good thing you listened and went to the emergency room!

    • Bo Lumpkin says:

      I can be sort of hard headed some times but I am no match for my wife and kids when they join forces against me. I’ve had a good week though. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  7. Androgoth says:

    You will be rushing off to the little boys room all
    the time with those, are they deuretics that you
    are taking Bo? Well I am pleased that they have
    sorted you out and got your motor ticking over
    properly but hey don’t be getting worried as you
    are fine now and are feeling better. That’s the
    wonder of modern medicine but they still should
    not be calling you names like that 😦 lol Kidding

    Have a fun rest of evening Bo and I will be calling
    into your Space more often, or should I say as
    often as I can my friend 🙂

    Be very well Bo 🙂

    Androgoth

Leave a Reply

